Daly earns Don’t Crack Under Pressure Award

Indianapolis, IN (October 4, 2016) – Dale Coyne Racing driver Conor Daly is being honored with the TAG Heuer “Don’t Crack Under Pressure” Award this evening at the Verizon IndyCar Series Championship Celebration.
The TAG Heuer “Don’t Crack Under Pressure” award is an honor presented to the driver that advances the most cumulative positions gained over the entire season, receiving one point per position gained.
Daly, with 87 points, moved up 87 positions over the course of the season from his place on the starting grid to his finishing position thanks to race strategy and out right pace. He beat Graham Rahal by six points to claim the honors.
“I have to thank TAG Heuer for being a part of this series and offering this award,” shared Daly. “The #18 DCR Honda was always well equipped for the race distance and gave me a chance to move forward. It was always going to be tough to compete for Rookie of the Year after Alex (Rossi) won the Indy 500 but to still come out of the year with an award for our race performance means a lot. That said, my next goal is to improve on my qualifying performance!”
The rookie made 16 starts for Dale Coyne Racing this year and scored a best finish of second at Detroit Race 1 where he moved up 14 positions before taking the checkered flag. In addition to his podium finish, Daly claimed four additional top six finishing positions.
He climbed 16 positions at the Grand Prix of Indianapolis to finish sixth, he gained 15 positions at Detroit Race 2 to once again finish sixth, he started 22nd and finished sixth at Mid-Ohio and moved up 13 spots at Watkins Glen to register a fourth place finish.
Daly also ended the season second in the Sunoco Rookie of the Year standings.

%d bloggers like this: