Dale Coyne Racing Team

Dale Coyne
  • PRONOUNCED: ( Coin )
  • BIRTHDATE: July 8, 1954
  • BIRTHPLACE: Minooka, IL
  • RESIDENCE: Plainfield, IL
  • MARITAL STATUS: Married to Gail Coyne
  • CHILDREN: None
  • BEST START: Pole by Mike Conway in Dual in Detroit #2 on June 2, 2013
  • BEST FINISH: First Place (Four Times)
  • by Justin Wilson at Watkins Glen International Racecourse on July 5, 2009
  • by Justin Wilson at Texas Motor Speedway on June 9, 2012
  • by Mike Conway at Belle Isle, MI Street Course on June 1, 2013
  • by Carlos Huertas at Houston, TX Street Course on June 28, 2014

Dale Coyne

Team Owner

Dale Coyne is a true racer as he begins his 31st season as an owner/driver in open-wheel racing.

Starting in 1984 as a driver and owner, Coyne drove five seasons in the now defunct CART series where he was Rookie of the Year at both the Michigan and Pocono 500’s. In 1990, Coyne stepped out of the cockpit and turned his talents to the tutelage of several up-and-coming drivers. He is known in the open-wheel community for his ability to recruit and coach young drivers.

He was the only CART owner to serve on both the CART and USAC Boards. Coyne also was picked by his fellow owners to be the interim CEO of CART in 1994 and 1995.

In 1998, Coyne designed and built Route 66 Raceway in Joliet, IL. This state-of-the-art drag racing facility drew the attention of Indianapolis Motor Speedway CEO Tony George. George and Coyne, along with International Speedway Corporation, would go on to expand the facility by forming a partnership and building Chicagoland Speedway. Coyne served as president of the facility through its construction and opening season and along with George, served on its management committee until its eventual buyout by ISC in 2007.

Prior to making the transition to the IndyCar Series, the team competed in the Champ Car World Series. In 2007, driver Bruno Junqueira recorded back-to-back-to-back podium finishes (Zolder, Belgium, Assen, Netherlands and Surfers Paradise, Australia) on route to a seventh place finish for the year.

In 2008, the teams first year in the IndyCar Series, drivers Junqueira and Mario Moraes recorded five combined top-10 finishes and both drivers led several laps during the famed Indianapolis 500.

In July of 2009, the team celebrated its first win when Justin Wilson won at Watkins Glen. Wilson would go on to finish with seven top-10 finishes and ninth in the 2009 IndyCar Series point standings. On June 9, 2012, the team celebrated its second win and first on an oval when Justin Wilson won at Texas Motor Speedway. On June 1, 2013 the team earned its third win when Mike Conway dominated the Dual in Detroit Race #1, winning by 12.9 seconds. That morning he earned the first Pole for the team. The team celebrated its fourth IndyCar victory on June 28, 2014 when Carlos Huertas topped an all Colombian podium in race 1 in Houston, TX.

Dale Coyne Racing is based in Plainfield, IL, which is located about 40 miles southwest of downtown Chicago.